Other worlds

I’m no stranger to other worlds. I write about them, I imagine them, I imagine living in them, I help other people see those worlds through my eyes. Some scare me, others merely exist and still more fascinate me.

But something I didn’t expect to happen was for one of them to invade my waking moments without being called.

I had a moment where I was driving along, with a clear destination in mind and the route planned out. Both of those things I have travelled a hundred times and more.

But as I came around the corner to where I needed to be I felt detachment. I looked at the scene and felt like it was not what I was expecting, like although logically it was all the same place, somehow it was different.

The colours were more vivid, the lighting better than it should have been, even with the moon high and bright as it was. And just behind every part of this scene there was something fundamentally different to what it should be.

I pulled into my stop and even there there were familiar sights but once again they were different in some indescribable way. It was only when I walked in and stood staring at the fridges that reality seemed to return. It was a truly surreal moment up until that point.

Unfortunately it’s not too much of a mystery as to why it happened, even though the what is not exactly certain.

Between frustrations at work, pressure at home and stresses in my personal life I’m feeling my depression trying to kick in. I can feel it right on the edge, and in that moment before the world changed I was deep in thought about it and the effect it could have on myself and those who are close to me.

It has a lot of evil potential.

But that moment of difference somehow held it at bay, that moment of wonder where my mind was so thoroughly distracted somehow broke the power of my depression. For now it’s not imminent, although I expect it to be back soon enough.

Leave a Reply

