Limbo

So, this post is actually not about being in limbo, it’s more about getting out of it.

First off there is of course the void that The Fallen has left. Without that to write and to focus on I’ve been drifting between a number of other things, toying with the ideas behind a couple of other stories. They haven’t progressed well.

What I figured out though is that I think they haven’t been progressing because whenever I write I listen to music, and the music I’ve been listening to has been wrong for those stories.

What makes that problem difficult to rectify is the fact that I have no idea where to even begin to look for the right type of music, partly because I don’t know what the right type actually is. I spent a couple of hours last night looking and found nothing.

But that doesn’t mean that I’ve given up. Once I find the correct tone in something that I can listen to I’m sure things will flow from there.

 

On to my second limbo escape, I’ve started ‘dating’ someone. We met ages ago and we’ve been talking for quite a while. A couple of months ago I started to realise that there might have been more to it than there had at first seemed.

And a couple of weeks ago I found out that it was mutual.

This means that for the first time in a long time I’m in a relationship, and what’s more it’s one of the healthiest ones I’ve ever been in. But it comes with a threat.

In two, maybe three months she leaves the country.

Now, I’ve done distance relationships before, they’re not as terrible and terrifying as they may seem, but that last one destroyed a lot of people and in the end I was a victim of it as well.

The other worry is that she was away for a week this week, and although there was not much difference in how often we could see each other, just knowing that she was out of reach made a huge difference in how it felt. The worry I have is what will happen when she’s half way around the world and it won’t just be for the week?

Nevertheless as I said above, this feels healthy, and right now I desperately need that.

Anyway, short post tonight, hopefully I’ll get back into it properly once my mind recovers from the burnout I’m facing but if not, I’ll be trying to keep this going as long as I can.

Leave a Reply

