Names, Titles and Boxes

One of the most difficult parts of writing for me is coming up with names; not only those of characters, but also of chapters, sections or the entire piece. Most of my time spent writing many of these posts goes into picking a name, sometimes this takes days.

Other times, I’ll think of a name and throw it out the window the moment I actually pull up WordPress. This can be a little frustrating for obvious reasons.

Essentially why this is relevant is because, in the end, many people will read the title of something and they’ll judge whatever it is. Or otherwise people hear a person’s name and, depending on whether they’ve encountered a person with the same name before, they then judge the person based on that name.

Or, the most common judgement, is based on the box something it put in. On WordPress we use tags and categories, in life we use labels. Emo, Hipster, Christian, Satanist, Muslim and so on and so forth. In the end, we base so much of our opinion of people on what we call them that often the person underneath gets almost completely ignored.

So what happens when the person you meet has an unusual name, does not follow any identifiable social trend or faith and doesn’t have anything else that one can identify that person with.

You find out the ‘hard way’ what the person is like.

My life took an odd turn recently. The person I spoke of in the previous, the one of the tentative relationship, the timing is off for anything to happen. Her life has taken some interesting turns which make a relationship a very bad idea. Things that somehow I sort of knew about before they actually came to materialise.

And then on the other hand, the girl who I thought I was over and past messaged me to say that she had changed her mind and apologised to me. And so somehow, the whole timing thing comes into my life again, except in the exact reverse of what it did last time.

Anyway, that’s that.

Outside of ‘romance’, my life is in an odd place. I’m starting to show symptoms of the depression that I thought I had managed to repress, it’s starting to eat at my mind in ways that I hoped it never would again. I don’t know if it’s just a recent event that caused it or a series of smaller events that have me spiralling. I suspect it might be the latter which means that it’s not going to be easy trying to deal with the underlying cause.

“So what? Everyone’s depressed these days.” My mind insists on telling me. And it’s right, most everyone certainly seems like it. But it’s affecting my drive to be able to do the things that I enjoy and that bothers me.

On that subject my project, of which the next section is due in seven days, is proving difficult and I need to try and find some form of release soon otherwise writing it is going to be more of a challenge than it should be.

Hopefully this blog post will push me into it so here’s to hoping. 🙂

Leave a Reply

